‘Ms. Marvel’ Awarded Dwayne McDuffie Award For Diversity in Comics


The second annual Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics has been given to Marvel Comics’ Ms. Marvel written by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona.


The award was presented to Wilson and Alphona at the Long Beach Comic Expo in Long Beach, California last weekend. Wilson thanked the fans for making the book successful and told them  “You are the beating heart to this series. I would like to dedicate this award to them – to the readers – to the fans. They are the ones changing the face of this industry.”

The series is about an ordinary girl from Jersey City named Kamala Khan who is suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts and becomes Ms. Marvel.

Marvel Comics was also nominated for Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare and Natacha Bustos.