See the Winners of the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards


GLAAD held its very first virtual edition for the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards. If you missed the virtual event, viewers will be able to watch the whole award show on Logo on August 3.

“The GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) community and the issues that affect their lives.”

Among the winners are FX’s ‘Pose’ which took home the Outstanding Drama Series, ‘Schitt’s Creek’ for Outstanding Comedy Series with ‘Booksmart’ winning the Outstanding Film – Wide Release.

Below is the full list of nominees.

Outstanding Film – Wide Release
Booksmart (United Artists Releasing)

Outstanding Film – Limited Release
Rafiki (Film Movement)

Outstanding Drama Series
Pose (FX)

Outstanding Comedy Series
Schitt’s Creek (Pop)

Outstanding Individual Episode (in a series w/o a regular LGBTQ character)
“Two Doors Down”, Dolly Parton’s Heartstrings (Netflix)

Outstanding TV Movie
Transparent: Musicale Finale (Amazon)

Outstanding Limited Series
Tales of the City (Netflix)

Outstanding Documentary
State of Pride (YouTube)

Outstanding Kids & Family Programming [TIE]
The Bravest Knight (Hulu) and High School Musical: The Musical: The Series (Disney+)

Outstanding Reality Program
Are You the One? (MTV)

Outstanding Music Artist
Lil Nas X, (Columbia)

Outstanding Comic Book
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra, by Simon Spurrier, Emilio Laiso, Andrea Broccardo, Wilton Santos, Caspar Wijngaard, Marc Deering, Don Ho, Walden Wong, Chris Bolson, Scott Hanna, Elsa Charretier, Rachelle Rosenberg, Chris O’Halloran, Stephane Paitreau, Lee Loughridge, Edgar Delgado, Jim Campbell, Joe Caramagna (Marvel Comics)

Outstanding Video Game
The Outer Worlds (Private Division)

Outstanding Broadway Production
The Inheritance, by Matthew Lopez

Outstanding Variety or Talk Show Episode
“Jonathan Van Ness: Honey, She’s An Onion With All Sorts of Layers” The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (CBS)

Outstanding TV Journalism – Newsmagazine
“Am I Next? Trans and Targeted” Nightline (ABC)

Outstanding TV Journalism Segment
“One-on-One with Mayor Pete Buttigieg” The Rachel Maddow Show (MSNBC)

Outstanding Newspaper Article
“Military Reports No Discharges Under Trans Ban — But Advocates Have Doubts” by Chris Johnson (Washington Blade)

Outstanding Magazine Article
“The Trans Obituaries Project” by Raquel Willis (OUT)

Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage

Outstanding Digital Journalism Article
“Trump Administration to LGBT Couples: Your ‘Out of Wedlock’ Kids Aren’t Citizens” by Scott Bixby (

Outstanding Digital Journalism – Video or Multimedia
“Stonewall 50: The Revolution” produced by Sekiya Dorsett, Brooke Sopelsa, Elizabeth Kuhr, Shahrzad Elghanayan, Wesley Oliver, Tim Fitzsimons, Victor Limjoco (NBC OUT and Nightly Films)

Outstanding Blog
My Fabulous Disease

Special Recognition
Special (Netflix)

Special Recognition
Karen Ocamb, former news editor, Los Angeles Blade

Special Recognition
Mark Segal, founder and publisher, Philadelphia Gay News

Outstanding Spanish-Language Scripted Television Series
El Corazón Nunca Se Equivoca (Univision)

Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism – Newsmagazine [TIE]
“Después de Stonewall” (CNN en Español) and “Orgullo” Despierta América (Univision)

Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Interview
“Cómo y Cuándo Salir del Clóset” Un Nuevo Día (Telemundo)

Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism Segment
“Amor Sin Condición” Noticiero Univision 33 (Univision)

Outstanding Spanish-Language Digital Journalism Article
“Soy Gay y Estoy Orgulloso de Poder Decirlo: Jorge Luis Martínez, patinador mexicano” por Mario Villagrán (GQ Mexico)

Outstanding Spanish-Language Digital Journalism – Video or Multimedia
“América a Fondo: Brigitte Baptiste, el Rostro de la (bio) Diversidad” por David Casasús (EFE)

Source: Deadline